Prime Minister’s Prizes for Excellence in Science Teaching

The Prime Minister’s Prizes for Excellence in Science Teaching in Primary Schools and Secondary Schools are awarded for excellence in teaching in any area of science that is part of the nominated teacher’s state or territory science syllabus.

Each prize is awarded to an individual teacher who, through the impact of their inspirational teaching and the sharing of their methods and results with the science teaching profession, has made an outstanding contribution to science education. Science teachers have a fundamental role in nurturing an interest in science in Australia’s youth. Their contributions, commitment and dedication to effective and creative science teaching are celebrated in these two awards.

The prizes

The Science Teaching Prizes each comprise an award certificate, a silver medallion and lapel pin, and prize money of $50,000.

Prize money is shared equally between the recipients and the schools in which they were teaching at the time of the nomination. The sharing of the prize money is to recognise and reward each Principal and school for their support and provision of facilities to the teacher that allowed them to achieve their results. The schools must use their share to enhance science learning in the school.

Past recipients

More prizes

Share this Page