Prime Minister's Prizes for Science

The Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science are Australia’s most prestigious and highly regarded awards for excellence in scientific research, innovation and science teaching.

Information on the 2015 Prime Minister’s Prizes recipients will be available on this page following the announcement at 5 pm on Wednesday 21 October.

For embargoed media information on recipient’s profiles, videos and photos or to arrange an interview, contact Niall Byrne on (03) 9398 1416, 0417 131 977 or

The six prizes awarded annually are:

The prizes are a tribute to the contributions that Australian scientists make to both Australian and international economic and social wellbeing as well as the critical role science educators play in inspiring and encouraging students to take an interest in science.

The Prime Minister's Prize for Innovation was announced as a new prize in 2014 to recognise excellence in Australian research commercialisation resulting from the translational impact of applied science and will be awarded for the first time in 2015. The Prize will promote building better links between researchers and industry and encourage entrepreneurial spirit in our business and research communities.

Nominating for the prizes

Nominees should read the relevant guidelines for their chosen prize and submit their nomination online.


Six prizes are awarded annually to Australian citizens or permanent residents recognising the contributions that our scientists and science teachers are making to Australia’s current and future scientific capabilities.

About the medallions and lapel pins

The medallions and lapel pins for the Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science were designed and manufactured by internationally renowned designer and engraver Wojciech Pietranik from the Royal Australian Mint.

Each medallion is presented in an Australian Jarrah crafted wood case.

Media Partners

We would like to acknowledge and thank our official social media partner, Cosmos and RiAus for their generous support as our media partners.

Cosmos Magazine     RiAus

Share this Page