Call for nominations - 2017 Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science

The search for Australia’s top science and innovation minds has begun with the opening of nominations for this year’s Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science.

Now in their 17th year, the prizes celebrate the achievements and successes of Australian scientists, teachers and innovators in Australia and abroad.

The Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science are Australia’s most prestigious and highly regarded awards for outstanding achievements in scientific research, research-based innovation and excellence in science teaching.

The awards also recognise the contributions that our scientists, innovators and science teachers are making to Australia’s current and future scientific capabilities.

This year’s prize recipients will share in $750,000 across the following prize categories:


The 2017 Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science strongly encourage nominees for:

  • Female scientists
  • Early-mid career innovators and
  • Science teachers.

Nominations can be made online at:

Nominations close on 12 April 2017 at 5.00 pm AEST.

Past prize recipients

The world-class calibre of prize recipients was demonstrated recently when Dr Ken Silburn, the 2015 recipient of the Prime Minister’s Prize for Excellence in Science Teaching in Secondary Schools, was named in the top 10 finalists for the Varkey Foundation Global Teacher Prize for 2017. The winner will receive US $1 million in prize money. 

Dr Silburn, who developed an enrichment program for high school students, in STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) was selected from more than 20 000 nominations from 148 countries.

To learn more about Dr Silburn and other past prize recipients, visit

Share this Page