Australia Prizes 1990-1999 Recipients

The Australia Prize was the predecessor award to the Prime Minister's Prizes for Science and was awarded annually from 1990 to 1999 (although no award was made in 1991). It was an international award, aimed at a worldwide audience for an outstanding specific achievement in a selected area of science and technology promoting human welfare. It achieved widespread recognition by individuals and organisations throughout the world, receiving nominations from 18 countries.

The Government awarded the Australia Prize to both Australian and international scientists. Of the 28 recipients, 18 were Australian, demonstrating Australia's strong international standing in many scientific fields.

The Australia Prize was replaced in 2000 by a set of three Prizes: the Prime Minister's Prize for Science, the Science Minister's Prize for Life Scientist of the Year and the Malcolm McIntosh Prize for Physical Scientist of the Year.

1999 (Energy Science and Technology)

1998 (Molecular Science)

1997 (Telecommunications)

1996 (Pharmaceutical Design)

1995 (Remote Sensing)

1994 (Sustainable Land Management)

1993 (Sensory Perception)

1992 (Physical Sciences relating to mining or processing of mineral resources)


  • No awards presented

1990 (Biological Sciences relating to agriculture or the environment)

Share this Page