2010 Recipients

2010 prize recipients with the Prime Minister of Australia and the Minister for Innovation, Industry, Science & Research The 2010 Prime Minister's Prizes for Science were awarded at a presentation ceremony held on 17 November 2010. The five prizes are awarded annually and are a tribute to the contributions that our scientists and science teachers are making to Australia's current and future scientific capabilities. 

Photo: (Left to Right) Dr Matthew McCloskey, Dr Kate Trinajstic, Professor John Shine, The Hon Julia Gillard MP, Prime Minister of Australia, Senator The Hon Kim Carr, Minister for Innovation, Industry, Science & Research, Ms Debra Smith, Dr Benjamin Kile

2010 Awards Presentation

The Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science were proudly presented to five of Australia’s exemplary scientists and science educators by the Prime Minister and Senator Carr on Wednesday 17 November 2010.

This black-tie celebratory dinner, held in the Great Hall of the Parliament House was attended by over 500 distinguished scientists, science leaders and science educators.

The Prizes, in its 11th year recognise the contribution of scientists, science leaders and science educators by public acknowledgement of their achievements of excellent Australian research and science education. These awards comprise solid gold or silver engraved medallions with matching lapel pins in jarrah presentation cases, and grants totalling $500,000.

This year’s $300,000 Prime Minister’s Prize for Science was awarded to Professor John Shine, Executive Director of the Garvan Institute of Medical Research, for his scientific research and research leadership in the field of biotechnology. The Prize also includes a solid gold medallion.

The Science Minister’s Prize for Life Scientist of the Year, comprising $50,000 and a silver medallion, was awarded to Dr Benjamin Kile, Senior Research Fellow from the Walter and Eliza Hall of Medical Research, for his achievements in molecular genetics.

Dr Katherine Trinajstic, Curtin Research Fellow from the Curtin University of Technology received the $50,000 Malcolm McIntosh Prize for Physical Scientist of the Year for her early career achievements in palaeontology.

In recognition of their efforts in inspiring and educating Australia’s next generations of scientists, the Prime Ministers Prize for Excellence in Science Teaching in Primary and Secondary Schools were awarded respectively to Dr Matthew McCloskey from the Sydney Grammar Edgecliff Preparatory School and Ms Debra Smith from the Centenary State High School in Brisbane. Each Teaching Prize consists of a silver medallion and a $50,000 grant.

Share this Page