2012 Recipients

The 2012 Prime Minister's Prizes for Science were awarded at a presentation ceremony held on 31 October 2012. The five prizes are awarded annually and are a tribute to the contributions that our scientists and science teachers are making to Australia's current and future scientific capabilities.

Group photograph of all the winners

2012 Awards Presentation

The Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science were proudly presented to five of Australia’s exemplary scientists and science educators by the Prime Minister and Senator Evans on Wednesday 31 October 2012.

The black tie celebratory dinner, held in the Great Hall of the Parliament House was attended by over 550 distinguished scientists, science educators and leaders of the community.

This year’s $300,000 major prize, the Prime Minister’s Prize for Science was awarded to Professor Kenneth Freeman for his founding of what today is one of the hottest fields of investigation in astronomy, galactic archaeology

The Science Minister’s Prize for Life Scientist of the Year, comprising $50,000 and a silver medallion, was awarded to Dr Mark Shackleton for his research on breast cancer and melanoma which is transforming our understanding of how cancers grow and resist treatment.

Professor Eric May’s work was deemed to be of such significance and value to the oil and gas industry that Chevron Australia established a Chair in Gas Process Engineering for him at the University of Western Australia.  He receives the 2012 Malcolm McIntosh Prize for Physical Scientist of the Year, comprising $50,000 and a silver medallion.

In recognition of their dedication to inspiring and educating Australia’s future generations of scientists, the Prime Minister’s Prizes for Excellence in Science Teaching in Primary and Secondary Schools were awarded respectively to Mr Michael van der Ploeg from Table Cape Primary School in Tasmania and Mrs Anita Trenwith from Salisbury High School in South Australia.  Each award comprises $50,000 and a silver medallion.

Photo Gallery

View the photo gallery from the 2012 Prime Minister's Prizes for Science presentation.

Share this Page