2013 Recipients

Prize winners for 2012 stand together for a photograph. Names listed after image.
(Left to right) Andrea Morello, Angela Moles, Terry Speed, The Hon Tony Abbott MP, Sarah Chapman and Richard Johnson
The prize recipients were:

Awards presentation

The Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science were proudly presented to five of Australia’s exemplary scientists and science educators by the Prime Minister on Wednesday 30 October 2013.

The black tie celebratory dinner, held in the Great Hall of the Parliament House was attended by over 550 distinguished scientists, science educators and leaders of the community.

This year’s $300,000 major prize, the Prime Minister’s Prize for Science was awarded to Professor Terry Speed for his contribution to making sense of genomics and related technologies.  Professor Speed is Head of Bioinformatics at the Walter and Eliza Institute of Medical Research.

The Frank Fenner Science Minister’s Prize for Life Scientist of the Year, comprising $50,000 and a silver medallion, was awarded to Associate Professor Angela Moles for her work in establishing Big Ecology – the study of ecology at a global level.

The Malcolm McIntosh Prize for Physical Scientist of the Year, comprising $50,000 and a silver medallion was awarded to Associate Professor Andrea Morello for his leadership and work in developing the silicon components to make quantum computing possible.

In recognition of their dedication to inspiring and educating Australia’s future generations of scientists, the Prime Minister’s Prizes for Excellence in Science Teaching in Primary and Secondary Schools were awarded respectively to Mr Richard Johnson from Rostrata Primary School in Western Australia, for his innovative and influential approach to the teaching of science and Ms Sarah Chapman from Townsville State High School for her contributions to teaching science and inspiring students to continue their studies. Each award comprises $50,000 and a silver medallion. In this augural year, the cash prize of $50,000 is being shared equally with the their schools towards improving the schools’ capacity to teach science.

Photo Gallery

View the photo gallery from the 2013 Prime Minister's Prizes for Science presentation.

Share this Page