The Australian Government supports national collaborative research infrastructure that enables Australian researchers to deliver lasting returns to the Australian community. This includes everything from CSIRO headquarters in Canberra to the Siding Springs Observatory in Coonabarabran, Questacon, Australia’s National Science and Technology Centre in Canberra and more.

National Collaborative Research Infrastructure (NCRIS)

NCRIS delivers world class research facilities so that Australian researchers can solve complex problems both here in Australia and around the globe.

NCRIS represents the most efficient and strategic way to invest in national scale research infrastructure, driving collaboration to bring economic, environmental, health and social benefits.

The Australian Government's investment of over $2.5 billion in research infrastructure has attracted more than $1 billion to co-investment from state and territory governments, universities, research facilities and industry.

The NCRIS network currently supports national research capability through 27 active projects and facilities that employ 1700 highly skilled technical experts and researchers in 222 institutions. The network supports over 35 000 researchers both domestically and internationally.

For more information visit the Department of Education and Training website.​

Share this Page